NLP - Unconscious Competence Model

NLP - Unconscious Competence Model

Sep 20, 2021

Learning a skill goes through four stages.

Initially we are unconscious of our incompetence, e.g. we do not realise what we have to learn to be able to drive a car.

Then, when we first try to let in the clutch, we realise how difficult it is – we become conscious of our incompetence.

After some practice we become competent – but only while we concentrate.

After more practice we are able to operate the clutch and change gear without thinking about it. We take it for granted – we have become unconsciously competent. Indeed, we discover that we can follow a route and travel between two places without thinking.

The four stages of learning